My GI, Dr. Huber was pretty terrible last time I saw him. He ran a bunch of tests, and they all came back normal. Which is good. I'm thrilled that I don't have Celiac, cancer, Crone's, colitis or any other disease he could think to look for. So, that's fantastic news, really. It's expensive, fantastic news. The follow up GI appointment where we discussed results went terribly.
Dr. Huber told me that all my results were normal, there is nothing physically wrong with my digestive system that he was able to see and there was nothing further he could do for me. He then insisted that he refer me over to behavioral psychology - to deal with my eating disorder. At this point I interjected : I'm glad you don't find any disease. But I don't have an eating disorder.
I work in the insurance industry, and I'm trained to be on the look out for waste. It's a waste to have me talk to someone about an eating disorder that I don't have. It's a waste of the doctors time, my time, my money and the insurance company's money to talk to someone for a problem I am confident I don't have. I then asked if he could refer me to another GI instead; which must have offended him. He told me he'd been very thorough and had followed protocol running tests and procedures as necessary. He then told me that he's seen patients complaining of chronic diarrhea - and it turns out they were taking laxatives. Um, I'm not taking laxatives.He pointed out that people with eating disorders regularly lie about it.
I changed tactics and let him know that I've been off gluten for a while and it seems to be helping a bit, can we talk about the possibility of gluten issues. He again told me that all tests come back normal, and there is no physical reason for my body to have a problem with gluten.
I asked him if he was able to help me and he said he had nothing further for me.
I called the nice folks at the short term disability provider and the pretty much told me that if a doctor suggests referral to another specialist, I've got to take it. So, those are the rules, I'll follow 'em.
But, I did get kind of excited that Dr. Huber pretty much said going off gluten was a waste of time. So, I had some pasta, and dumplings and a cupcake. And it was amazing. Oh, cupcakes, I love you! Then, two and a half hours later, I decided it's necessary to be off gluten. Sigh. I really did want to eat gluten.
After that, off to see my primary care doctor. I love Dr. Clevidence. He actually listens. And provides relevant feedback, and does not suspect I'm making up symptoms and causing my own illness on purpose.
He's got me on some digestive enzymes - crazy expensive enzymes. They are generally for folks with cystic fibrosis. But Dr. C says it might help me digest some food. So, the insurance company and I plunked down a bunch of money to see if it helps. He's also put me on some meds that should help increase my appetite. I take 'em at bed time cuz, wow, do I sleep when I take those things! I think the appetite stimulant is helping some. I notice feelings of hunger more than I have in the past. So, yay for that.
Dr. C also set me up with a nutritionist. He supports me going gluten free, but we want to be sure that I'm getting the nutrients I need.
I asked about going back to work. He wanted to know if I thought I was ready. I said I felt I could give it a try. Dr. C. laughed at me. He actually chuckled. Told me I'm not ready, we still have more work to do, and my body has more healing that needs to happen. So, we are looking at late September or early October to return to work.
I met with the nutritionist this past Tuesday 9/1. I did not get a whole lot of direction, but we did a lot of goal setting, and she asked questions about my history. It got me thinking. And it reminded me of all the resources I already have. I've got everything I need to eat a healthy gluten and meat free diet. It's just a matter of getting organized. I'll figure it out. I've got a follow up with her in two weeks to get into more specifics.
I've also done a little bit of running. Which you all know, I love to run. It makes me happy. Some days are ok, others are... Not. I've generally been sticking to around 3 miles or so, and go around 10 minute pace. I figured this would make me crazy to run so infrequently, such short distances and so slowly. But, I'm surprised with myself. I'm ok with it. I feel like this gluten free body that I live in is not the one I've lived in before.
I "ran " in the Cow Chip Classic this past Saturday, did the 10K which was really cool, because I've not run that far in about a month. I also averaged around 9 minute pace. Normally, I'd be pretty upset with a time like that, but for the body I'm living in now, it's amazing. I started with three goals in no particular order: finish, don't be last, don't crap my shorts. All three accomplished. Although, I'm glad I finished when I did, because I sure had to go visit the blue box of relief when I was done. I feel like I did a good job running on feel, not thinking about anything else. At this point, my focus is on healing and healthy digestion, not fast race times. So, I'm glad I did it, and I'm really happy I listened to my body and just ran without worrying about time. Felt good.
Sunday, I got to see Leah, which was awesome. We did a little walking around at Taste of Madison, but then walked over to Picnic Point. Just doing a lap at Taste was eye opening to me. I've been eating at home and in controlled environments. Events like Taste or just taking a road trip are going to be challenges for me. I'll need to figure out how to bring foods along that I can eat. Being spontaneous is probably not going to be much of an option from here on out. So, that's my project over the next few weeks, self sufficient food to go!
No comments:
Post a Comment