Progress is a funny thing. somedays are great and others, a mess - but who can't relate to that?
I've been gaining weight, more and more. Last week, my BMI was as close to "normal" as it's ever been. Most of my running clothes are getting pretty snug, and even my feet are getting bigger - got some blisters on my toes from running shoes that are now a bit snug. Most of my rings don't fit any more. This is getting expensive. I don't have any pants that fit. I've always fallen into the "leggings are not pants" camp - however, after checking multiple stores and trying on more pants than I care to count, I may be revising my position. I've been finding myself in skirts and dresses more often. On Wednesday, it took all of my effort to not leave work early, sighting painful pants. Is that a good enough reason to leave work? "Sorry, Boss, I gotta go. My pants hurt."
My running is pretty pathetic by my former standards. At this point I don't care. I ran around Lake Monona last weekend for the first time since last June. It took me a long time. Very long. But I did it. I did not even call a cab or just decide to check into a hotel along the way for a nap. I won't lie, I looked for a nice place to nap, and probably made it home just because I wanted to take a nice nap. I'm confident that my May marathon is gunna be ugly. My goal is to get healthier, not faster. It is my hope that if i get through this, I will find myself in better shape than I would be otherwise.
I am in a better place than I was this summer, but as Robert Frost says, miles to go before I sleep, miles to go before I sleep.