When I got dressed this morning, I went through about 4 or 5 pair of pants until I could find some I was able to wiggle into - and zip/button. Really. Pants that used to be too big would not even go on, let alone close.
I finally found a pair of pants that used to require a belt and safety pin to keep up - and today, I had to suck it in to get them to clip shut.
None of these jeans fit anymore!
The largest grey pants on the bottom had to due for work today.
They used to require a belt and safety pin.
Today, they were pretty tight.
It's ridiculously satisfying getting rid of clothes that no longer fit. After work today, I went on a little shopping spree and picked up some dresses as I figure that I'll be able to wear them through a few size changes. Seems silly to buy jeans and assorted pants that I hope to outgrow quickly. Todays shopping excursion was the easiest it's ever been. I bought smalls and 2s instead of trying on extra smalls and zeros that are all too big.
I still have weight to gain, and I'm not in great running shape, but I'm thrilled with the progress I'm making.
Getting back to running more makes me a little nervous. I don't want to run off the weight I've put on. As my miles get up there, I'll just have to make extra eating efforts. Not that I'm not already making an effort... I'm thinking about signing up for the Eugene Marathon on May 10, 2015. I know I won't be in shape to run a fast marathon that soon. But I bet I could get the distance done in a time that many would call "respectable" for a sickly gimp like myself. If it goes well, I can target a Fall race to see about a faster time. At this point, I'm trying to figure out how to live in a body that feels new to me.
I still have a bad stomach day here and there. Maybe once or twice a week I feel pretty lousy. But that's a massive improvement over feeling terrible, all day, every day.
Forward!

